Monday, December 10, 2007

Are all Angels alike?

What different types of angels are there?

First, there are Archangels. The prefix “arch” means chief, principal or great. This rank is found only in two places in Scripture (1 Thessalonians 4:16; Jude 9). Michael is the only angel in Scripture called an archangel and is mentioned four times by name in Scripture (Daniel 10:13, 21; 12:1; Jude 9; Revelation 12:7). Though not recognized in the Bible as an archangel, Gabriel is the only other angel mentioned by name and also possesses great responsibilities and power (Daniel 8:16; 9:21; Luke 1:19, 26; Matthew 1:20; 2:13, 19)

Second, there are Cherubim (Genesis 3:24; Exodus 25:18-20; Ezekiel 1:4-28; 10:1-22). The description of cherubim is quite interesting. Each has four faces (a man, a lion, an ox, and an eagle). Each has two pair of wings. They have legs like men but their feet are like a calf. They have four human hands, one under each wing. Satan was at one time the chief cherub angel prior to his fall (Isaiah 14:12; Ezekiel 28:14).

Third, there are Seraphim. These angels are mentioned only in Isaiah 6. They have six wings: two to cover their face; two to cover their feet; and two used to fly. They worship the holiness of God.

Fourth, there are what the Bible calls Living Creatures. These angels are found only in the book of Revelation (Revelation 4:6-8; 6:1-7). Their number is limited to only four. They appear to be similar to cherubim and seraphim with multiple eyes, faces, and wings, and in their worship of the holiness of God.

Finally, there are Ministering Angels. The Bible does not teach whether each believer has a specific guardian angel. These angels are involved in our every day actions (Hebrews 1:14). They inform (Revelation 22:16). They protect (Psalm 34:7; Genesis 19:10; 2 Kings 6:15-17). They comfort (1 Kings 19:5; Acts 27:24). They deliver (Acts 5:19; 12:7). They also minister at the moment of death (Luke 16:22).

Are demons also angels?

It is believed that, like Adam, all angels were originally created without fault. Satan, who was once one of God’s most prominent angels named Lucifer, instigated a great revolt against God (Isaiah 14:12-15; Ezekiel 28:11-19). It is suggested that one-third of heaven’s angels sided with Lucifer in this rebellion (Revelation 12:3, 4). This rebellion probably took place sometime between the creation of the earth and the temptation of Eve (Genesis 1:31). From that point on, faithful angels are referred to in Scripture as holy and elect angles while fallen angels are referred to as the devil’s angels or demons (Matthew 25:41; Revelation 12:9). It appears in Scripture that these classifications became unchangeable.

No comments: